The Utah Federation of Republican Women was founded more than 70 years ago. In 1941, we became affiliated with the National Federation of Women.

Before Utah acquired statehood in 1896, as a territory, in 1870, the legislature granted women the right to vote. In 1887, that right was revoked as part of a national effort to rid the territory of polygamy. It was restored again in 1895 within the newly devised state constitution. It wasn’t until August 18, 1920, almost 25 years later, however, with the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution, that all women throughout America were granted the right to vote. It isn’t surprising to learn that some of the most influential Suffragettes were also from Utah: Emmaline Wells and Zina Young Williams forged an alliance with eastern suffragists as early as 1879 when they attended a national suffrage convention in Washington DC. In January 1896, Utah became the third state to join the Union with equal suffrage.

The oldest Women’s Republican Club still in existence is located in Salt Lake City! The WRC of SLC was founded in 1899 by the wife of one of Utah’s first elected US Senators.

Past UFRW Presidents:
Beverly Davis
Kitty Dunn 2002-
Darcy Kruitbosch 2008-2011
Heather Groom 2012-2013
Val Ziegler 2014-2015
Kathleen Anderson 2016-

Our history is still being written! Please join us, and become part of the UFRW story!